Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Nigeria coach Oliseh names 23-man CHAN squad

Nigeria coach Oliseh names 23-man CHAN squad


Nigeria coach Sunday Oliseh has released his final 23-man squad for the Orange CHAN Rwanda 2016 to be held between 16 January and 7 February 2016, reports CAF.

Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders Austin Oboroakpo and Chima Akas, Olympic team duo Usman Mohammed and Yaro Bature and forward Chisom Chikatara headline a list that also includes Enyimba FC’s skillful winger Ezekiel Bassey, former junior international Ifeanyi Mathew and the Sunshine Stars’ trio of Paul Onobi, Prince Aggrey and Tunde Adeniji.

Former junior international goalkeeper Femi Thomas, Shooting Stars’ central defender Jamiu Alimi and former Supersand Eagles’ ace Bartholomew Ibenegbu have also been included.

The Super Eagles B team, alongside technical and backroom staff, flew out of the country on Saturday (2 January 2016) to Pretoria, South Africa, where a 10–day pre-tournament training camp has been arranged, alongside two friendly games against fellow Rwanda–bound Angola on 6 January and and Cote d’Ivoire five days later.

Nigeria were placed third at their only appearance at the CHAN finals in 2014 in South Africa.

The West Africans will campaign in Group C alongside 2011 winners Tunisia, Niger and Guinea, with matches to be played at the Stade Regional Nyamirambo, Kigali.

Full squad
Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars); Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba FC); Okiemute Odah (Warri Wolves)
Defenders: Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors); Kalu Orji Okogbue (Enugu Rangers); Jamiu Alimi (Shooting Stars); Mathew Etim (Enugu Rangers); Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Stephen Eze (Sunshine Stars); Christopher Madaki Maichibi (Giwa FC); Samson Gbadebo (Lobi Stars)
Midfielders: Ifeanyi Mathew (El-Kanemi Warriors); Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars); Usman Mohammed (FC Taraba); Yaro Bature (Nasarawa United); Bartholomew Ibenegbu (Warri Wolves); Ibrahim Attah Salau (Shooting Stars)
Forwards: Osas Okoro (Enugu Rangers); Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC); Tunde Adeniji (Sunshine Stars); Bright Onyedikachi (FC IfeanyiUbah); Chisom Chikatara (Abia Warriors); Prince Aggrey (Sunshine Stars)

CHAN Groups:

Group A: Rwanda, Côte d’Ivoire, Morocco, Gabon
Group B: DRC, Ethiopia, Cameroon, Angola
Group C: Tunisia, Guinea, Niger, Nigeria
Group D: Zimbabwe, Zambia, Uganda, Mali

View more