Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Ethiopia officially handed mantle to host CHAN 2020


Ethiopia will host the next Championship of African Nations (CHAN) tournament scheduled for the year 2020.

The country’s football chief received the mantle from the president of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) after the 2018 final in Morocco.

CAF president Ahmad Ahmad along with EFF president Juneidi Basha displayed the Ethiopian flag with the CAF flag handed over to Basha.

Ethiopia officially handed CAF flag from President Ahmad to receive mantle to host Championship of African Nations (CHAN) in 2020. pic.twitter.com/gNXtsp3yPb

— Juneidi Basha (@JuneidiBasha) February 5, 2018

Morocco on Sunday (February 4) made history by becoming the first host nation to win the tournament. The Atlas Lions thumped Nigeria’s Super Eagles by four unanswered goals.

Morocco went through the tournament unbeaten scoring sixteen goals and conceding only two. Their striker Ayoub El Kaabi scored a record nine goals.

They are the third north African side to win the competition after Tunisia (2011) and Libya (2014). South of the Sahara, only Democratic Republic of Congo have won it in 2009 and 2016.

#Morocco made history as the first host to win
Here are the last four hosts and winners
[Year – host – winner]
2009 – Ivory Coast – DR Congo ???
2011 – Sudan – Tunisia ?? ?
2014 – South Africa – Libya ?? ?
2016 – Rwanda – DR Congo ???
2018 – Morocco – Morocco ???

— africanews (@africanews) February 4, 2018

The Total African Nations Championship (sometimes referred to as African Championship of Nations or CHAN) is a football tournament which was first announced on 11 September 2007.

It is played between the best national teams of Africa, exclusively featuring players who are active in the national championships and qualified to play in the ongoing season.

Expatriate players, regardless of where they play, even in Africa, are not qualified to take part in the African Championship of Nations. The tourney alternates with the flagship African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

View more