Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



9 World Cup slots for Africa approved by FIFA, await ratification

9 World Cup slots for Africa approved by FIFA, await ratification


FIFA has agreed on the proposed slot allocation recommended on January 10 to expand the World Cup to a 48-team competition.

The FIFA President Gianni Infantino and presidents of each of the six confederations agreed at a meeting in Zurich on Thursday, the world football governing body said in a statement.

“The recommendation will now be submitted for the ratification of the FIFA Council, whose next meeting is scheduled for May 9 in Manama, Bahrain, two days prior to the 67th FIFA Congress,” FIFA added.

If ratified, Africa (CAF) will get four more slots added to the current five of the 32-team competition and will take effect at the 2026 edition of the FIFA World Cup.

The new 48-team competition has 46 direct slots. The two other slots will be decided after a play-off tournament between six teams with each one from a confederation except UEFA, and one additional team from the confederation of the host country.

Also, the host country will automatically qualify for the World Cup, and its slot would be taken from the quota of its confederation.

In the event of co-hosting, the number of host countries to qualify automatically would be decided by the FIFA Council.

Below are the slots per confederation.

  • Confederation of African Football (CAF) – 9 direct slots

  • Asian Football Confederation (AFC) – 8 direct slots

  • North, Central American and Caribbean Football Confederation (CONCACAF) – 6 direct slots

  • South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) – 6 direct slots

  • Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) – 1 direct slot

  • Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) – 16 direct slots

View more