Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Zuma cabinet reshuffle - who's in and who's out?

Zuma cabinet reshuffle - who's in and who's out?

South Africa

South African president Jacob Zuma reshuffled his cabinet few minutes after Thursday midnight despite calls against the decision.

Five ministers have lost their jobs including Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan while five others have been given new portfolios.

Below is the list of fired, reshuffled and newly appointed ministers who will be sworn-in Friday evening.

Fired Ministers

  • Tina Joemat-Pettersson, former Minister of Energy

  • Dipuo Peters, former Minister of Transport

  • Pravin Gordhan, former Minister of Finance

  • Derek Hanekom, former Minister of Tourism

  • Ngoako Ramatlhodi, former Minister of Public Service and Administration

Reshuffled Ministers

  • Malusi Gigaba, former Minister of Home Affairs

  • Nathi Nhleko, former Minister of Police

  • Thulas Nxesi, former Minister of Public Works

  • Fikile Mbalula, former Minister of Sports and Recreation

  • Faith Muthambi, former Minister of Communications


  • Minister of Energy, Ms Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi, replacing Tina Joemat-Pettersson

  • Minister of Transport, Mr Joe Maswanganyi, replacing Dipuo Peters

  • Minister of Finance, Mr Malusi Gigaba, replacing Pravin Gordhan

  • Minister of Police, Mr Fikile Mbalula, replacing Nathi Nhleko

  • Minister of Public Works, Mr Nathi Nhleko, replacing Thulas Nxesi

  • Minister of Sports and Recreation, Mr Thembelani “Thulas” Nxesi, replacing Fikile Mbalula

  • Minister of Tourism, Ms Tokozile Xasa, replacing Derek Hanekom

  • Minister of Public Service and Administration, Ms Faith Muthambi, replacing Ngoako Ramatlhodi

  • Minister of Home Affairs, Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize, replacing Malusi Gigaba

  • Minister of Communications, Ms Ayanda Dlodlo, replacing Faith Muthambi

Deputy Ministers

  • Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration, Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

  • Deputy Minister of Finance, Mr Sifiso Buthelezi

  • Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises, Mr Ben Martins

  • Deputy Minister of Arts and Culture, Ms Maggie Sotyu

  • Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Mr Gratitude Magwanishe

  • Deputy Minister of Communications, Ms Thandi Mahambehlala

  • Deputy Minister of Tourism, Ms Elizabeth Thabethe

  • Deputy Minister of Police, Mr Bongani Mkongi

  • Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams

  • Deputy Minister of Small Business Development, Ms Nomathemba November

View more