Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Ivorian political parties form a new opposition coalition

Ivory Coast

A new opposition coalition has been formed in Ivory Coast.

The bloc known as “Together for Democracy and Sovereignty” was announced on Thursday. It will be led by Georges Amadin Ouegnin while his deputy is Laurent Dona Fologo.

During his speech, the leader said, “I believe that along with supporters of former president Gbagbo that we must have peace. This is the message that I am sending to the current ruling party. We are open to constructive dialogue, because Ivory coast is one and indivisible.”

The coalition comprises four political parties and several civil society organisations.

The parties in the coalition are the Rassemblement pour la paix (RPP), the Ivorian Alliance for the Republic and Democracy (AIRD), the Union of New Generations (UNG) and the Ivorian Popular Front (FPI).

While some of the civil society enjoined in the party comprise of the Pan-African Youth and Patriotic Congress and National Agricultural Trade Union for Progress among others.

The parties signed a twelve-point agenda which focused on national reconciliation, the release of political prisoners, press freedom, Ivory Coast’s monetary policy and the trials of Laurent Gbagbo and Charles Ble Goudé at the ICC.

The opposition bloc will be seeking to challenge the ruling coalition in the next presidential election to be held in 2020.

View more