Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Kenyatta, Odinga and 6 others declared candidates in Kenya's August elections

Kenyatta, Odinga and 6 others declared candidates in Kenya's August elections


Incumbent President Uhuru Kenyatta and main opposition leader Raila Odinga including six other presidential aspirants have been officially handed the baton to run in Kenya’s August 8 elections.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) on Monday cleared the eight candidates and their running mates after they presented the required documents to contest.

The others are Cyrus Jirongo (United Democratic Party), Ekuru Aukot (Thirdway Alliance), Michael Wainaina (Independent), and Japhet Kaluyu (Independent), Mohamed Abduba Dida (Alliance for Real Change) and Joseph Nyagah (Independent).

However, five candidates failed to meet the requirement includes securing 2,000 signatures from people not affiliated to any party in at least 24 counties.

The Jubilee Party’s Uhuru Kenyatta and his running mate William Ruto hit the campaign trail immediately after their clearance as they paraded through the streets of Nairobi filled with thousands of supporters.

“We have no intention to abuse our opponents. Our desires is to sell the policies we have. Peace now, peace during campaigns and peace after the campaign,” Kenyatta said after he was cleared.

National Super Alliance candidate, Raila Odinga and his running mate Kalonzo Musyoka of the Wiper party presented their documents on Sunday and equally exhibited their candidacy to their supporters at a rally in the capital.

Campaigning officially started on Sunday, May 28 and will run to August 5, 3 days before the election, the IEBC announced.

View more