Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Women Nations Cup: Eight teams qualify, Kenya to make maiden appearance

Women Nations Cup: Eight teams qualify, Kenya to make maiden appearance


Eight teams have qualified for the 10th Women Africa Cup of Nations to be held in the Cameroonian cities of Limbe and Yaounde between November 19 and December 3, 2016.

Defending champions Nigeria joined Ghana, South Africa, Kenya in confirming their places on Tuesday. The four add on to the list with Cameroon, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea and Zimbabwe having qualified earlier.

Of the seven teams that emerged from the qualifiers, Kenya were the surprise entrants, having qualified for the women’s football tournament for the first time since its inception in 1998.

Christened Harambee Starlets, the Kenyans booked their ticket at the expense of Algeria. A 1-1 draw in Nairobi handed them passage via the away goal rule, as the tie ended 3-3 on aggregate. Cheris Avilia’s 74th minute strike cancelled veteran Naima Bouhenni 23rd minute strike to settle for a 1-1 draw.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons needed goals in either half from experienced midfielder Rita Chikwelu and Osarenoma Igbinovia to see off Senegal 3-1 on aggregate in Abuja.

In Johannesburg, first half goals from Mamello Makhabane, Sanah Mollo and Linda Motlhalo were all the Banyana Banyana needed to complete a double over neigbours Botswana and confirm their place 5-0 on aggregate.

Ghana’s Black Queens also qualified for the ninth time thanks to a 4-0 victory over Tunisia in Accra. An own-goal by Imen Trodi saw the Queens take the lead on 26 minutes before experienced midfielder Portia Boakye doubled the lead before the break. Second half strikes from Princella Adubea and Samira Suleman completed the rout as Ghana advanced 6-1 on aggregate.

Egypt qualified for the final tournament for the first time in 18-years at the expense of Cote d’Ivoire despite a 2-1 loss on Monday in Abidjan. The consolatory strike from Nevein Gamal was all the North Africans needed to confirm their ticket to Cameroon.

The Warriors of Zimbabwe were the first team to qualify after a 3-2 victory over Zambia away on Sunday in Lusaka and 4-2 on aggregate. It is the first time since 2004 that Zimbabwe will be participating at the flagship women’s tourney.

Two-time winners Equatorial Guinea also confirmed their place after a 2-1 win over Mali in Malabo, and 3-2 on aggregate. ‘Nzalang Nacional’, who missed out on the last edition two years ago, needed a goal in each half from Jade Boho Sayo and Adriana Costa to qualify whilst Bintou Koite scored in between for the Malians.


Tuesday, April 12, 2016

*Kenya 1-1 Algeria (2-2)

*Nigeria 2-0 Senegal (1-1)

*Ghana 4-0 Tunisia (2-1)

*South Africa 3-0 Botswana (2-0

Monday, April 11, 2016

*Cote d’Ivoire 2-1 Egypt (0-1)

Sunday, April 10, 2016

*Equatorial Guinea 2-1 Mali (1-1)

*Zambia 2-3 Zimbabwe (0-1)