Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Trump's ban on Sudan, Somalia, Libya, 4 others will only embolden terrorists – OIC

Trump's ban on Sudan, Somalia, Libya, 4 others will only embolden terrorists – OIC

Saudi Arabia

The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) has expressed grave concerns about the executive order signed by Donald Trump, banning nationals from seven countries from entering the United States.

The executive order signed by Trump imposes a four-month travel ban on refugees entering the United States and a 90-day hold on travellers from Syria, Iran and five other Muslim-majority countries.

The OIC described the order as ‘selective and discriminatory, adding that it was set to further complicate the grave situation that refugees find themselves. They also held the view that it would only play into the hands of violent terrorists to continue their acts.

‘‘Such selective and discriminatory acts will only serve to embolden the radical narratives of extremists and will provide further fuel to the advocates of violence and terrorism at a critical time when the OIC has been engaged with all partners, including the US, to combat extremism and terrorism in all their forms and manifestations,’‘ an OIC statement read.

World #Islamic body OIC_OCI says #Trump #visaban emboldens extremists

— Saudi Gazette (Saudi_Gazette) January 30, 2017

All seven countries banned by Trump’s order belong to the OIC, with three being African countries – i.e. Sudan, Somalia and Libya. The others are all in the Middle East with the worse affected being Syria. Iraq, Iran and Yemen complete the list.

OIC is the second largest inter-governmental organization after the United Nations. It has 56 other member states across the world. The Gambia is set to host the next summit of the body.

View more