Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Mauritania signs partnership agreement with ECOWAS


Mauritania and ECOWAS countries signed a new cooperation agreement aimed towards improving economic and security situation in the region.

On Friday, Marcel Alain de Souza, president of ECOWAS commission, and Mauritanian Minister of Commerce, Naha Mint Mouknass, reached a consensus allowing free flow of goods and people and strengthening the fight against terrorism in the region.

The two parties also agreed to have a single tariff policy that will apply to all goods moving across the region.

ECOWAS and Mauritanian officials “emphasized the very strong ties which have existed for centuries characterized by brotherhood, friendship and good neighborliness.

This new approach will consolidate both economic and relations between Mauritania and the 15 member ECOWAS
countries. Mauritania had left ECOWAS in the year 2000 to join the Maghreb union consisting of Libya, Morocco and Algeria.

View more