Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Uganda Decides: Museveni 60.8% - 35.4% Besigye (Electoral Commission)

Uganda Decides: Museveni 60.8% - 35.4% Besigye (Electoral Commission)


13:30 (GMT)
Opposition rejects results of “sham elections”

Main opposition candidate, Kizza Besigye, in a statement called for an independent audit of the results.

BREAKING: From inside his besieged home, Kizza Besigye rejects election outcome, calls for independent audit of results #UgandaDecides

— NBS Television (@nbstv) February 20, 2016

13:00 (GMT)
Incumbent Yoweri Museveni re-elected president of Uganda

The Ugandan Electoral Commission has declared incumbent president, Yoweri Museveni as the winner of the 2016 Presidential Election. Museveni will spend another five-year term in power.

VIDEO: Electoral Commission declares Yoweri Kaguta Museveni as president elect in the 2016 elections. #UgandaDecides pic.twitter.com/ufzC4lqGkG

— NBS Television (@nbstv) February 20, 2016

Uganda 2016 Presidential Election Results11:20 (GMT)
The Commonwealth Observer Mission has criticized the continued use of the basin during the elections saying it has “compromised the ballot”.

The head of the mission, former Nigerian president Olusegun Obasanjo told the media in Kampala.

Commonwealth Observer Mission: The continued use of the basin compromised the ballot #UgandaDecides pic.twitter.com/tM52Zz2Vtt

— NBS Television (@nbstv) February 20, 2016

11:15 (GMT)
Uganda’s head of Electoral Commission, Dr Badru Kiggundu has announced that the next release of results will be the declaration and the winner will be declared by 4pm Ugandan time.

11:06 (GMT)
European observers criticize the lack of “independence” of the Electoral Commission

“The EC (electoral commission) lacks independence, transparency and the trust of stakeholders,” Eduard Kukan, chief observer for the EU mission, told reporters in Kampala.

08:44 (GMT)
Museveni leads with 61% of votes from 83% of polling stations, Electoral Commission announced

Museveni is in the lead with more than 5 million votes. He is followed by opposition leader Kizza Besigye with over 2 million votes. Former Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi is in third place with a little over 1.2 million votes.

The provisional results are from 23,304 of the 28,010 polling stations across the country. Uganda provisional results from EC Uganda provisional results from EC


View more