Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



CHAN 2016: Hosts Rwanda reveal final 23-man squad

CHAN 2016: Hosts Rwanda reveal final 23-man squad


Rwanda coach Johnathan McKinstry has announced his 23-man squad for the 2016 Orange CHAN to be held from January 16 to February 7.

McKinstry kept confidence in the majority of players who were key in last year’s CECAFA Challenge Cup tournament where Rwanda finished runner-up, losing 1-0 to Uganda in the final.

In the final squad, local giants, APR had the most representatives, nine players. Police had seven, followed by Rayon Sports with three, Mukura VS two while SC Kiyovu and AS Kigali a player each.

“It was very difficult to assign the last few places in the squad as all 32 players (in the provisional squad) have worked tirelessly over recent weeks; and as such some were naturally disappointed to have just missed out.

“For the 23 selected, Rwandans can be confident that they will give everything they have in pursuit of top performance. And when they do that, I am confident we will not be far away from maximizing our potential at CHAN 2016,” Amavubi coach McKinstry said.

Rwanda face DR Congo in a friendly on Sunday, January 10, 2016 in Rubavu, their last test game ahead of the opening match against Cote d’Ivoire six days later.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Eric Ndayishimiye (Rayon Sports), Olivier Kwizera (APR Fc) and Jean Claude Ndoli (APR Fc)

Defenders: Michel Rusheshangoga (APR), Fitina Omborenga (SC Kiyovu), Celestin Ndayishimiye (Mukura VS), Mwemere Girinshuti (Police Fc), Faustin Usengimana (APR Fc), Abdul Rwatubyaye (APR Fc), Emery Bayisenge (APR Fc) and Fiston Munezero (Rayon Sports)

Midfielders: Yannick Mukunzi (APR Fc), Djihad Bizimana (APR Fc), Rachid Kalisa (Police Fc), Hegman Ngomirakiza (Police Fc) and Amran Nshmiyimana (Police Fc)

Forwards: Dominique Savio Nshuti (Rayon Sports), Innocent Habyarimana (Police Fc), Jean Claude Iranzi (APR Fc), Jacques Tuyisenge (Police Fc), Yussufu Habimana (Mukura VS), Ernest Sugira (AS Kigali) and Dany Usengimana (Police Fc).

View more