Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Mali's ruling party loses in 10 of the 19 urban communes of the country

Mali's ruling party loses in 10 of the 19 urban communes of the country


Early results from Mali’s elections indicate the ruling party has lost 10 of the 19 urban municipalities in the country.

Reports say president Ibrahim Boubacar Keita’s party, the Rally for Mali, has won only nine of 19 urban communes, according to provisional results released.

Of the 6 communes in Bamako, RPM won 3. It lost its stronghold in the capital in commune 4, which was claimed by the Yelema party of former prime minister Moussa Mara.

The biggest disappointment for the RPM came from its defeat in the urban commune of Sikasso which is one of the most important electoral strongholds in the country.

The Yelema party managed to retain the town hall of commune 4 for a second consecutive term.

Voters elected 12,000 councilors in municipal elections throughout the country on Sunday, two years later than originally scheduled.

The election campaigning had been marked by bitter opposition criticism of the government amid calls for a voter boycott.

Mali’s government is currently struggling to implement a peace deal and fighting off jihadist rebels in the north.

Islamic rebels had prevented campaigning and posters in some parts of the north.

Security issues in the north and the centre of the country led to opposition leader Soumaila Cisse calling for a delay in the voting.