Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Aubameyang voted best player in Bundesliga

Aubameyang voted best player in Bundesliga

African Football

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Dortmund has been voted player of the season by the players union of Germany’s top flight league, beating former Dortmund player Robert Lewandowski to second place.

With 19.7 percent of votes, the Gabonese international beat the Bayern Munich and Bundesliga’s top scorer Robert Lewandowski by 0.2% (19.5 percent). Third place went to Aubameyang’s teammate and BVB playmaker Henrikh Mkhitaryan who managed 12.6 percent of the votes.

In the award category of Best Newcomers into the league ‘‘Silver Arrow Award’‘, another Dortmund player, the 20-year-old Julian Weigl topped with 30.6 percent as against Schalke’s Leroy Sane who came in at a distant second with 15.5 percent and Mönchengladbach Mahmoud Dahoud with 13.9 percent came in third.

The vote for best manager of the just ended season known as the “Silver dugout” was also won bu Aubameyang’s coach Thomas Tuchel with 27.3 percent, a clear lead over Darmstadt Dirk Schuster (15.7 percent) and Berlin’s Pal Dardai (14.8 percent).

The reigning Confederation of African Football (CAF) Footballer of the Year’s hit 100 career goals this season after scoring for his club in a league fixture against TSG 1899 Hoffenhei, he scored Dortmund’s third goal in a 1 – 3 victory.

He has been tipped by former Liberian star and Ballon d’Or winner to be the next African to win the coveted European gong for the continent after he George Weah last won it in 1995.

Aubameyang, who will be leading his nation at the next African Cup of Nations to be hosted in Gabon, has been the subject of speculation across Europe with a potential move to the English league next season being widely reported.

He joins Riyad Mahrez of Leicester City, the Algerian was also named the Professional Footballers Association’s best player in England after his sterling performances led the Blue Foxes at the King Power stadium to bag a fairytale Premier League title.

The Bundesliga team for the season was also dominated by league champions Bayern Munich players who took 9 slots leaving the remaining two for Dortmund duo of Aubamayang and Mkhitaryan


  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)


  • Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich)
  • Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich)
  • David Alaba (Bayern Munich)
  • Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich)


  • Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich)
  • Henrikh Mkhitaryan (Dortmund)
  • Douglas Costa (Bayern Munich)
  • Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)


  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Dortmund)