Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Ethiopia's OPDO picks new chairman in bid to produce next Prime Minister

Ethiopia's OPDO picks new chairman in bid to produce next Prime Minister


<p>Ethiopia’s Oromo People Democratic Organization (<span class="caps">OPDO</span>) has elected a new leader in the person of Dr. Abiy Ahmed, the Addis Standard portal reports. </p> <p>The party’s 81-member Central Committee voted for the new changes on Thursday. The move is seen as a bid to position Ahmed as the next Prime Minister of the country.</p> <p>He takes the post of <span class="caps">OPDO</span> Chairperson and replaces Lemma Megerssa the immediate past occupant of the role. Megerssa drops to the post of deputy <span class="caps">OPDO</span> chair but maintains his post as president of the Oromia region. </p> <blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Dr. Abiy Ahmed, formerly the minister of Science & Technology, has moved to become deputy chairman of the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OPDO?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OPDO</a>, one of the parties that make up the ruling <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/EPRDF?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#EPRDF</a>, and head of its secretariat under the new leadership of Lemma Megerssa (seen below). <a href="https://t.co/4pH20ftNMG">pic.twitter.com/4pH20ftNMG</a></p>— Addis Standard (@addisstandard) <a href="https://twitter.com/addisstandard/status/966613757588893696?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 22, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script> <p>Dr. Abiy Ahmed’s appointment as chairman of the <span class="caps">OPDO</span> came after the party’s 15 member executive committee, led by Lemma Megeressa, reached at a consensus on Monday this week to replace him as the chairman, the Addis Standard added.</p> <p>The post of Prime Minister became vacant after the resignation a week ago of PM Hailemariam Desalegn. The ruling Ethiopia Peoples Democratic Front (<span class="caps">EPRDF</span>) is expected to go to congress to elect Desalegn’s successor. He is continuing in the role till congress decides.</p> <p>The four parties under the <span class="caps">EPRDF</span> include the <span class="caps">OPDO</span>, the Amhara National Democratic Movement (<span class="caps">ANDM</span>), the Tigrayan People’s Liberation Front (<span class="caps">TPLF</span>) and the Southern Ethiopian People’s Democratic Movement (<span class="caps">SEPDM</span>). </p> <p>Desalegn belonged to the <span class="caps">SEPDM</span> whiles the late PM Meles Zenawi belonged to the <span class="caps">TPLF</span>. The coalition holds 100% seats of the parliament. The country is due to return to the polls in 2020.</p> <blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">'Game Over,' U.S. Congressman jabs Ethiopia's <span class="caps">TPLF</span> <a href="https://t.co/LQqgvCXlha">https://t.co/LQqgvCXlha</a></p>— africanews (@africanews) <a href="https://twitter.com/africanews/status/966324665181507585?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 21, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script> <p><strong><em>Photo credit: <span class="caps">OPDO</span>-official (Facebook)</em></strong></p>
View more