Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Cameroon beaten by Chile in opener of FIFA Confederations Cup


Cameroon, the African champions were handed a losing start to their Confederations Cup campaign which kicked off in Russia over the weekend.

The Indomitable Lions lost 2 – 0 to Chile (Copa America champions) thanks to late goals from Auturo Vidal and Eduardo Vargas.

The South American champions were however denied an earlier goal after the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) ruled out a legitimate goal by Vargas on the stroke of halftime.

Hugo Broos’ side next take on Australia on Thursday in a match they have to win to keep alive their chances of progressing.

The 2017 African Nations Championship winners are in Group B, with Germany, the reigning world champions. Chile two-time winner of the Copa America and Australia.

Group A consists of Portugal, European champions; Russia, Mexico and New Zealand.

The eight teams taking part in the competition will share $20 million. The winner will receive $4.1 million and the losing finalist gets $3.6 million, the remaining will be shared among the others.

The competition takes place from 17 June to 2 July 2017.

View more