Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Benin abolishes short-stay visa for nationals of 31 African countries


<p>Beninese authorities have abolished the short stay visa for nationals of 31 African countries.</p> <p>The exemption promised by President Patrice Talon, is based on the Rwandan example, and applies to stays of less than 90 days.</p> <p>Talon announced last August during a visit to Kigali that he was considering the abolition of visas for Africans.</p> <p>“Based on the experience of Rwanda, I decided that Benin will no longer require visas for Africans. South-South cooperation can make real sense. My hope is that cooperation between Rwanda and Benin can serve as an example,” Talon said.</p> <p>According to a document of the Consulate General of Benin in Paris, dated January 10, 2017, nationals of 31 countries of the continent are now exempt from visa for Benin, for stays of a duration not exceeding 90 days.</p> <p>This list of the countries exempt include those from South and East Africa such as South Africa and Kenya.</p> <blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The short-stay visa is abolished for nationals of 31 African countries in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Benin?src=hash">#Benin</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rwanda?src=hash">#Rwanda</a> included. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Africa?src=hash">#Africa</a> <a href="https://t.co/yw7FmXhXeV">pic.twitter.com/yw7FmXhXeV</a></p>— RadioTv10_rw (@Radiotv10_rw) <a href="https://twitter.com/Radiotv10_rw/status/831779446097137665">February 15, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
View more