Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



EgyptAir among airlines implementing Trump travel ban


<p>EgyptAir has confirmed that it’s the among the airlines implementing a travel ban for Muslims from seven countries following a directive by US President Donald Trump.</p> <p>According to Hossam Hussein, an EgyptAir official who is responsible for the carrier’s daily flight to New York, authorities there had notified them hours earlier of the new restrictions. </p> <p>The directive calls for airlines to prevent U.S. immigration visa holders from seven Muslim-majority countries from boarding flights to the United States.</p> <p>The countries affected are Sudan, Yemen, Iraq, Iran, Syria, Somalia and Libya.</p> <p>Officials at EgyptAir however said holders of diplomatic passports or government officials from the affected countries would be allowed to board.</p> <p>The move by the US President has sparked confusion and anger after immigrants and refugees were kept off flights and left stranded in airports.</p>
View more