Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Gabon names AFCON 2017 team


<p>Gabon has become the first team to name its final 2017 Africa Cup of Nations squad.</p> <p>The team captain and Borussia Dortmund star Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang will lead the squad for the opening game of the tournament against Guinea-Bissau who will be making its debut on 14 January in Libreville.</p> <p>Other names to make the final party include Didier Ndong of Sunderland, Juventus midfielder Mario Lemina, Bruno Ecuélé Manga of Cardiff City and China-based striker Malick Evouna.</p> <p>Gabon coach José Antonio Camacho included three domestic-based stars and also placed three players on standby for the biennial Africa Cup of Nations, which runs between 14 January and 5 February.</p> <p>The team which will host the tournament is placed in Group A with Guinea-Bissau, four-time winners Cameroon and 2013 runners-up Burkina Faso.</p> <p>Here is the full list of the team:</p> <p>Goalkeepers</p> <p>Didier Ovono (KV Ostend / <span class="caps">BEL</span>), Yves Stéphane Bitséki Moto (CF Mounana / <span class="caps">GAB</span>), Anthony Mfa Mezui (Unattached).</p> <p>Defenders</p> <p>Bruno Ecuélé Manga (Cardiff City / <span class="caps">WAL</span>), André Biyogho Poko (Karabukspor / <span class="caps">TUR</span>), Aaron Appindangoye (Laval / <span class="caps">FRA</span>), Franck Perrin Obambou (Mandji Stage / <span class="caps">GAB</span>), Lloyd Palun Johann Serge Obiang (Troyes/FRA), Benjamin Zé Ondo (Mosta FC / <span class="caps">MAL</span>) and Yoann Wachter (Sedan/FRA)</p> <p>Midfielders</p> <p>Junior Serge Martinsson Ngouali (IF Brommapojkarna / <span class="caps">SWE</span>), Levy Clement Madinda (Nastic Tarragona / <span class="caps">ESP</span>), Gelor Kanga Kaku (Belgrade Red Star / <span class="caps">SRB</span>), Merlin Tandjigora (Meixian Hakka FC / <span class="caps">CHN</span>), Didier Ndong (Sunderland / <span class="caps">ENG</span>), Samson Mbingui (Raja Casablanca / <span class="caps">MOR</span>), Mario Lemina (Juventus, Italy)</p> <p>Forwards</p> <p>Denis Athanase Bouanga (Tours FC / <span class="caps">FRA</span>), Serge Kevyn Aboue Angoue (Uniao Leiria / <span class="caps">POR</span>), Cedric Ondo Biyoghe (CF Mounana), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund / <span class="caps">GER</span>), Malick Evouna (Tianjin Teda FC / <span class="caps">GAB</span>)</p> <p>On standby</p> <p>Axel Meyé (Eskisehirspor / <span class="caps">TUR</span>), Johan Lengoualama (Raja Casablanca / <span class="caps">MOR</span>), Donald Nzé (AS Pelican / <span class="caps">GAB</span>)</p>
View more