Welcome to Africanews

Please select your experience

Watch Live



Ghana's president reshuffles ministers

Ghana's president reshuffles ministers


Ghana’s President, John Dramani Mahama has reshuffled his Ministers in accordance with Article 79(1) of the 1992 Constitution of Ghana.

The recent shake up in government is the last of the first term of President Mahama, as the West Africa country goes to the polls in November.

A statement signed by Ghana’s Chief of Staff, Julius Debrah, announced the nomination of the following appointments.

Mr. Alex Segbefia as a Deputy Minister for Defence. Mr. Kenneth Wujangi, Deputy Chief of Staff (Operations) and Antwi Boasiako-Sekyere has also been nominated as Minister for the Eastern Region.

The President has also reassigned the following to new ministerial portfolios; Julius Debrah, Eastern Regional Minister now Minister for Local Government and Rural Development; Yaw Effah Baafi, Deputy Minister for Lands and Natural Resources now Deputy Minister for Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs.

The statement announced the appointment of Hon. Franklin Fiavi Fifi Kwetey (MP) as Minister for Transport while Alhaji Mohammed Muniru Limuna is the new Minister for Food & Agriculture. Hon. Mark Woyongo (MP) has meanwhile been reassigned to the Presidency as Minister of State.

The president also announced the nomination of the followings as ministers of state:

  • Prosper Douglas Bani – Minister Designate for the Interior
  • Hon. Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye (MP) – Minister Designate for Youth & Sports
  • John Alexander Ackon – Minister Designate for the Ashanti Region
  • Hon. Kweku Ricketts Hagan (MP) – Minister Designate for the Central Region
  • Mavis Ama Frimpong – Minister Designate for the Eastern Region
  • Abdallah Abubakari – Minister Designate for the Northern Region
  • Hon. Albert Abongo (MP) – Minister Designate for the Upper East Region

According to Debrah, the reshuffle is ongoing as an additional list of nominees is expected in a few weeks.

View more